This week is National Child Passenger Safety Week! It’s a great time to brush up on the laws and best practices that are recommended to keep your child safe. Why should you care? Motor vehicle crashes are one of the leading causes of serious injury and death for children in Wisconsin. Many of these injuries and deaths can be prevented.
What do you need to know?
Wisconsin Law: Children must be in a rear-facing car seat, in the back seat, until they are BOTH 1 year old AND 20 pounds.
Best Practice: The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that children stay rear-facing until they are at least 2 years old. Research shows children are 75 percent safer when they are rear-facing. We encourage you to follow this guideline.
Wisconsin Law: Children must be in a forward-facing car seat with a harness, in the back seat, until they are BOTH 4 years old AND 40 pounds.
Best Practice: Children are much better protected when restrained in a harness, than in a seat belt alone. New car seats on the market allow for higher harness weights of up to 50-80 pounds, so it is possible to keep them safer longer.